Native Plants Resource

by Maureen Sundberg

A few months ago, ELA posed the question “What’s your favorite source for native plants?” A lively discussion on LinkedIn generated a list of favorite sources for native plants throughout the country – from Octopus Agave (Agave vilmoriniana) in Arizona to cut-leaved coneflower (Rudbeckia laciniata) in Michigan to Roughleaf Dogwood (Cornus drummondii) in central Texas.

Many contributors offered not only a favorite nursery or seed supplier, but additional advice as well.

“Always insist on plants that are nursery propagated. Plants that are dug from the wild just deplete native populations.

“Buy locally grown.”

“Check out Native Plant Societies for each state.”

Thanks to everyone who offered advice or the name of a nursery. While this is in no way a complete list, below you’ll find a selection of your choices. If you haven’t yet listed your favorite, you can still join the discussion:

Arizona

Glendale, Mountain States Wholesale Nursery, http://www.mswn.com/

Tucson, Desert Survivors, www.desertsurvivors.org

California

Elk Grove, Cornflower Farms, www.cornflowerfarms.com

Escondido and Santa Margarita, Las Pilitas, www.laspilitas.com

Petaluma, North Coast Natives, www.northcoastnativenursery.com/

Richmond, Annie’s Annuals & Perennials, www.anniesannuals.com

San Francisco, Bay Natives Nursery, www.baynatives.com

San Juan Capistrano,Tree of Life, www.treeoflifenursery.com

Santa Barbara, San Marcos Growers, www.sanmarcosgrowers.com

Woodside, Yerba Buena Nursery, www.yerbabuenanursery.com

California Native Plant Link Exchange, www.cnplx.info/

Connecticut

Hamden, Broken Arrow Nursery, www.brokenarrownursery.com

Woodbury, Earth Tones Native Plant Nursery, www.earthtonesnatives.com

Delaware

Hockessin, Mt. Cuba Center, www.mtcubacenter.org

Florida

Homestead, Casey’s Corner, (305) 248-7284

Lutz, Hollies Farm & Garden Center, www.gohollies.com/Plants.html

Tampa, Treemart, www.treemart.com

Other Florida resources:

For a list of native plant providers: www.floridagardener.com/FLNatives/NPS.htm

For a list of water-wise plants: St. Johns River Water Management District, www.sjrwmd.com

Illinois

Leland, Pizzo Native Plant Nursery, www.pizzo.info/nursery/

St. Charles, Midwest Groundcovers, www.midwestgroundcovers.com

Iowa

Harpers Ferry, The Ion Exchange, Native Wildflowers & Prairie Plant Nursery, www.ionxchange.com

Maine

Biddeford, Pierson Nurseries, www.piersonnurseries.com

Swanville, Fernwood Nursery & Gardens, (207) 589-4726

Waterville, Fedco, www.fedcoseeds.com

Maryland

Perry Hall, American Native Plants, www.americannativeplants.net

St. Michaels, Environmental Concern, www.wetland.org

Massachusetts

Amherst, New England Wetland Plants, www.newp.com

Carlisle, Blanchette Gardens, http://www.blanchettegardens.com/

Framingham, New England Wild Flower Society, www.newfs.org

*Gill, Sudbury Nurseries West, http://www.sudburynurserieswest.com

Housatonic, Project Native, www.projectnative.org

Sandwich, F.W. Schumacher Company (sells seeds), www.treeshrubseeds.com

South Dartmouth, Blisscapes Nursery, www.blisscapes.com/index.html

Southampton, Tripple Brook Farms, www.tripplebrookfarm.com

Wayland, Weir Meadow Nursery, (508) 358-4905

Whately, Nasami Farm, www.newenglandwild.org/visit/native-plant-nurseries

Additional Resources: Grow Native Massachusetts (formerly Grow Native Cambridge), www.grownativecambridge.org/resources/nurseries

Michigan

Portland, Michigan Wildflower Farm, www.michiganwildflowerfarm.com

Missouri

Belton, Prairie and Wetland Center, www.critsite.com

New Hampshire

*Deerfield, Van Berkum Nursery, www.vanberkumnursery.com

New Jersey

Bridgeton, New Moon Nursery, www.newmoonnursery.com

Columbus, Pinelands Nursery,www.pinelandsnursery.com

New York

Canandaigua, White Oak Nursery, www.whiteoaknursery.biz

Kerhonkson, Catskill Native Nursery, www.catskillnativenursery.com

Montauk, Fort Pond Native Plants, www.nativeplants.net

Springwater, Amanda’s Garden, www.amandagarden.com

Oregon

Dayton, Native Habitat Nursery, nativehabitatnursery.com/native_plants.html

Pennsylvania

Landenberg, North Creek Nurseries, www.northcreeknurseries.com
Octoraro, Kirkwood, www.octoraro.com

Meadville, Ernst Conservation Seeds, www.ernstseed.com

Orefield, Edge of the Woods Native Plant Nursery, www.edgeofthewoodsnursery.com

South Carolina

Aiken, Woodlanders, www.woodlanders.net

Tennessee

Nashville, Nashville Natives Nursery, www.nashvillenatives.com

Texas

Austin, Native Texas Nursery (wholesale), www.nativetx.com

Georgetown, Mcintires Nursery, www.mcintiresgarden.com

South Austin, Ladybird Johnson Wildflower Center, recommends native plants by state, www.wildflower.org

Virginia

Toano, Pinelands Nursery & Supply, www.pinelandsnursery.com

Wisconsin

Waukesha, Prairie Frontier, www.prariefrontier.com

Westfield, American Natives, www.american-natives.com

Other Resources:

For a list of native nurseries in all 50 states: www.plantnative.org/index.htm

*ELA member

About the Author

Maureen Sundberg edits the ELA newsletter from her home in Andover, MA where she also practices sustainable gardening.